Quick Answer: What Does It Mean When IPhone Says Location Not Available?

What does it mean when iPhone says online not sharing location?

It can be very frustrating when the Find My iPhone shows online not sharing location error message.

This message usually means that the device you are tracking is connected to the internet, but its location is unavailable..

Can someone tell if I check their location on iPhone Imessage?

They don’t get any notification or there isn’t any log of lookup incidents made available to them. The location is sent from the friends device only when you request to see it. The location isn’t transmitted on a regular interval.

Is there a way to stop sharing location without notifying the person?

You can also turn off “Share My Location” globally in the iCloud settings on the phone. … You can also turn off “Share My Location” globally in the iCloud settings on the phone. Clearly if your phone is off or out of coverage it also won’t report location.

Why is someone’s location not updating?

There are several conditions that could cause a family member’s location to stop updating. If their battery is low and their phone is in low power mode, the app will stop updating their location. … The same holds true if they’re in an area where their phone can’t access the internet.

How often does find my iphone update location?

In the new ‌Find My‌ app and with a good signal, the location beacons on the map in the People and Devices tabs are designed to refresh periodically and automatically every minute or so.

Can you tell when someone checks your location?

Currently, there is no option to know if someone you are sharing location is checking the location. Google takes abuse of its services very seriously.

How do I make my iPhone location not available without them knowing?

Although it is a bummer that your friend will get a notification, here is how to disable Find My Friends.Open your Settings on your mobile device.Select Privacy.Select Location Services.Tap the Location Services slider so it is White / OFF.

How do I hide my location?

Stop location tracking on Android devicesSwipe down from the top of the screen so that you see your Quick Settings menu, and long-press on the Location icon, or swipe down, tap the Settings icon, and choose “Location.”You’re now on the Location page. Find the “Use location” feature at the top and toggle it off.

How do I fake my location on iPhone?

Faking GPS Location on iPhoneConnect your iPhone to your computer and install iTools on your computer. … Launch iTools and click the Virtual Location button.At the top of the map, type in the location you want to fake and press Enter.On a map, you’ll see your GPS location move to the faked location.More items…•

How do you know if someone turned off their location?

If a Circle Member has logged out or turned off location services in their phone settings, you will see that they have lost connection, showing a message such as ‘Location/GPS turned off’, ‘No network or phone off’, or ‘GPS off’ and may have a red exclamation ‘!’ mark by their name.

Can you tell if someone is looking at your location on iPhone?

The only people and apps that have the ability to check your location are the ones you’ve specifically given permission for them to do so. No, your device doesn’t tell you when people are checking because that would be really annoying.

How can you tell if someone is tracking you on your iPhone?

Plain and simple, it is MY DEVICE! There is absolutely no way to know if anyone is tracking you using Find my iPhone. The ONLY way someone can track you is if they know your Apple ID and password, so if you suspect someone is tracking you simply change your password and they won’t be able to.

Can you temporarily stop sharing location on iPhone?

Stop sharing your location If you don’t want your friends to see your location in Find My Friends, you can stop sharing from the app on your iOS device or on iCloud.com. … If you’re using iOS 12, tap Share My Location. If you’re using an earlier version of iOS, tap iCloud > Share My Location. Turn off Share My Location.

Why is it saying location not available?

Here are the possible reasons that could cause this error: Your friend’s device has an inaccurate date. The other device isn’t connected to a network, or it’s off. Hide My Location feature is active on your friend’s iPhone.

How does share my location work on iPhone?

Share your locationOpen the Find My app and select the People tab.Select Share My Location or Start Sharing Location.Enter the name or phone number of the person you want to share your location with.Select Send.Choose to share your location for One Hour, Until End of Day, or Share Indefinitely.Select OK.

Can my phone be tracked if Location Services is off?

Google Tracks You Even If Location History’s Off. … The problem affects anyone with an Android phone and iPhone users running Google Maps on their devices, according to the AP report, which researchers at Princeton University verified. That’s more than two billion people.

Can the Find My iPhone be wrong?

In most cases, no, it does not. However, your carrier can indeed affect location tracking services. For instance, there is a famous case where several Sprint consumers using Find My iPhone were redirected to a wrong location.

How do you stop sharing location on Imessage?

To stop sharing your location from your iPhone;Open Settings.Tap on your name at the top.Tap on Find My.Tap the toggle next to Share My Location to off.

Does blocking someone stop sharing location?

Blocking calls or SMS messages is something that you are doing to your phone. All it does is turn off the ring sound – nothing else. Such blocking is not communicated off your phone. So it is entirely possible to block calls and still be sharing your location.